Click below for a power point presentation on UCR buildings.
Connect from off campus
To access library resources from off-campus, install the AnyConnect VPN. Detailed instructions at the bottom links below:
Troubleshooting/Questions? Contact the Student Help Desk:
Telephone: 951-827-6495 E-Mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
You may find some information about pre-1968 buildings in the Centennial Record of the University of California located in the reference collection under the call number Rivera Ref Y2 .A2S72. There is also a copy on electronic reserve under Engl 004 Summer Bridge. You will need to obtain the password from your instructor to access the e-reserve.
- Online newspapers are linked from the "Newspapers" subject page - http://library.ucr.edu/view/find/newspapers.html. The page contains both current and historical articles. This is a good starting point for focusing on the year the building was opened.
- Riverside's Press Enterprise is available online from 1992 to present. Earlier issues are available on micrform in the Rivera Library.
- Earlier copies of UCR's student newspaper, The Highlander, are available on microfilm under the call number: Y2.R5 H53
Images and Video:
- Images of UCR buildings can be found at the UCR Photo Gallery (http://www.gallery.ucr.edu).
- Want more? Try an image or video search in Google.
Examples: image "citrus experiment station" riverside
video "bell tower" (ucr OR "uc riverside" OR "university of california riverside")
- Interviews with many leading campus people can be found at http://www.ucrhistory.ucr.edu/. Use Google to find any mention of your building:
- Bring the Google search page up and enter your building;
- enter a space followed by "site:www.ucrhistory.ucr.edu" (without the quotes).
- Example: "Spieth Hall" site:www.ucrhistory.ucr.edu
- There may be information in the University Archives. They are located on the 4th floor of the Rivera Library and are open Monday through Friday, from 9am to 5pm. For more information about University Archives, see http://library.ucr.edu/view/collections/spcol/universityarchives .
For general information about Special Collections and Archives, see http://library.ucr.edu/view/collections/spcol
- There is a fee if the Archives staff make copies of documents. However, you are welcome to take a photo of an item for free. Be sure to ask the staff for the camera usage form before you snap the image.
Cite Your Sources:
- General information on citing sources is available at http://library.ucr.edu/view/help/citing.html .
Scroll down to find information on MLA Style. (Note: there is a link to "Writing a Research Paper" at the top of the page.)
- Another excellent resource for this and addtional papers you will research is the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab at Purdue University).
- The general link is http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/.
- What will really be useful for your project is their MLA Formatting and Style Guide at http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/ . Be sure to scroll down on the left to use the "...Other Common Sources" section.
- Still not sure? Check with your course instructor.